“Chiameal”

So, I decided to try fake “oatmeal” and use chia seeds. I was shared by someone this recipe from http://screwedonstraight.net/noatmeal-for-breakfast-keto-oatmeal/

Sadly, I had no flax meal and honestly flax and I don’t agree so much. I have IBS-D and so flax tends to cause my guts to sound somewhat like a constipated T-Rex having a hard time in the wilderness. Not happy at all. That said, I decided to tweak it a bit and go with almond flour. It worked, but I would use an equal amount next time of chia and almond flour, just FYI.

That said, this is a good breakfast dish. I couldn’t even finish it all! I think there are SO many variations you could do here that would be wonderful. This one has a whopping 21 grams of FIBER! The total carb is 25 grams, minus said fiber, gives you 4 NET CARBS! WOAH NELLY! And, if you have to use regular milk (2%) or if the kids want to try it, and they don’t like almond milk or whatever, it’s 7 net carbs. I did the math! 🙂 You’re welcome. 🙂

Now, on to the pic and the recipe:

chiameal

 

At first glance you think it’s not much to look at and I admit my picture quality isn’t that great (it was early) but you get the idea. Here is the recipe.

INGREDIENTS:

3 TBSP Chia seeds

1 TBSP Almond flour

1/2 CUP almond milk (or milk of choice, will affect carb content). I use Califia Farms Almond Coconut milk

1 Ounce SF French Vanilla Torani syrup (can just add vanilla extract if you would like) or more syrup if you prefer. *if you use extract be sure to add EXTRA sweetener to taste*

2 packets Splenda or sweetener of your choice

1 TBSP Cinnamon

1.5-2 TBSP butter

 

DIRECTIONS:

First thing, mix the chia, almond flour, milk, sweetener, Torani syrup together in a bowl. DO NOT ADD CINNAMON AND BUTTER!!! Place the mixture of chia, flour, milk, sweetener and syrup in the fridge OVERNIGHT.

In the morning, stir and microwave 1 minute to 1 minute 20 seconds. I had to do the latter in my microwave. When it’s hot, remove and add butter, cinnamon and more sweetener if you need it. This is the time you can add anything from fruit (berries) to just about any flavoring or nuts even. If it gets cold then microwave an additional 15 seconds, then eat!

I caution you that this does get cold fast, so you might want to eat it right away as I did not care for it cold. Just FYI.

 

The carbs, again, net are 4 for this dish. I believe next I will do even, 2 tbsp chia, 2 tbsp almond and might flavor with some banana extract and throw in some walnuts! 😀 Go ahead, get creative!!!

Till next time, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

