Parmesan Crusted Asparagus (Air Fryer)

So, last night we had steaks and salads. YUM! Yes, in February in Tennessee it was warm enough (72+) to fire up the grill. WOW. Ok, mind blown yet? Ha. Anyway, so off to the grill I went to cook some well done steaks (not well done, not eating it) and Abs helped me with the salad and made herself a baked potato. I, however, bought some beautiful asparagus and wanted them in the air fryer. I LOVE going to Longhorn and ordering their parm crusted asparagus spears as an appetizer, but only I eat them so there is no use. So, I decided to try my own recipe and pop them in my air fryer. Would it work? Ohh you betcha! And, next, I am making zucchini fries!!! YEAH MAN!! 🙂 This is perfect for one person and honestly 7 spears was all I could fit in my air fryer! Check it out!

parm-crust-asparagus

Just look at those crispy yummies!!! They were SO good. Honestly, you could decrease the cooking time to about 4-5 minutes if they are small spears. Just a tip. So, now, the recipe!

Ingredients:

7 asparagus spears, ends cut

1 egg beaten in separate container (will use about half an egg, if that, to dredge)

2 TBSP Panko (plain) breadcrumbs (it’s ok, trust me!)

3 TBSP Parmesan (grated or shredded. I had grated).

Salt to taste

Pepper to taste

Directions:

Preheat air fryer to 400 degrees and allow it to heat up 3 minutes.

Meanwhile, mix the Panko, Parmesan, salt and pepper in a container or on a paper plate, whatever works!

Beat the egg if you didn’t already in another container.

Now, coat the asparagus spears in the egg, then the crumb mixture. Make sure you really coat it in the egg first and let any excess drip off before coating them in the crumb mix.

**you will get messy!

When they are all coated, place them in the air fryer basket (that is heated so be careful!!)

Cook in the air fryer on 400 degrees for about 6 minutes. I found that at about 4 minutes mine were very brown and looking good. I left them the full six and they were very tender, so if you want a bit of a “bite” to them (in addition to the crunch) then go 4-5 minutes. Either way, they are delicious!!!

 

I told you do not worry over that Panko, right? Here is the nutrition. One serving of 7 good sized spears is 8 net carbs. Yeah! GO FOR IT!!!

 

Nutrition (for 7 spears)

144 calories

8 NET carbs

7 g Fat

13 g Protein

3 Sugars

 

Leave a Reply

