Chocolate Chip Biscuits

Good morning breakfast! I was thinking today I am just sick of bacon every morning. I want something sweet and good and “old fashioned” if you will. Now, I love bacon, do NOT misunderstand me, lol but I eat it EVERY morning for the most part so I wanted to venture out. Yesterday I made my traditional Carbquik Buttermilk biscuits for breakfast. You can find that recipe on my blog, just search. So, I got to thinking, I make Texas Style Choc Chip Muffins (recipe here on blog too) with Carbquik, so why not a chocolate chip biscuit? Ohh yeah. That will work! And, it DID! Check this out:

choc chip bisc 2

 

As you can see, one is about gone. I did top with some Kerrygold butter as well and let it melt. JEEZ talk about sinfully good! Just what I was wanting. Now, here is the recipe. πŸ™‚

 

First, I highly recommend buying a muffin top pan for your biscuits or anything like this you want to make. It cooks in about 15 minutes at 375 and you have the perfect size portion for a person, be it a sweet delicious treat or a hardcore biscuit for sausage and cheese! πŸ™‚ Either way, the muffin top pan is one of the best things I ever bought. I highly recommend the investment. Amazon has a great one, I have it. πŸ™‚ It’s also super to use if you are making “egg cups” or “egg muffins” that you need cooked all the way through, it is a smaller well so it really performs well. πŸ™‚ Ok, onto the recipe.

 

Ingredients:

1/2 cup Carbquik (you can buy this on Netrition or Amazon)

1/2 tsp COLD butter, cubed ( I use Kerrygold)

3-4 oz of Califia Farms Almond and Coconut Blend Milk (you can use whatever you prefer, just adjust for carb count).

2-3 squirts liquid sweetener of choice (I use Splenda)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/8 tsp cinnamon

1 tbsp sf chocolate chips

 

Directions:

This will make 2 biscuits which is 1 serving.

First, spray your muffin top pan (or whatever you are using) with cooking spray so they do not stick! Important step!!! πŸ™‚

Mix Carbquik, cinnamon together.

Add the cubed COLD butter. A trick is you can go ahead and cube some up in TINY little bits and store in a locked container (I prefer Lock & Lock) in the fridge for easy access. This trick allows you to get a true biscuit texture like you would the old way. πŸ™‚

Add sweetener and vanilla.

Now, slowly add the milk. You may need a bit more or a bit less depending. You have to work with it as you go so that you incorporate everything. Once you get a dough ball, stop adding milk, haha.

Now, flatten this out in your mixing bowl and top with SF chocolate chips. I use Hershey’s (buy at Walmart in baking isle).

Fold in the chips by cutting and folding over and over until the chips are in the mixture well.

Now, split into two portions. Dampen hands with water and roll out into biscuit shapes. Press lightly into the muffin top pan (if you are using a cookie sheet, make them like biscuits and LIGHTLY press the top to set them down on the sheet).

 

Pop in a preheated 375 degree oven for 15 minutes. DO NOT COOK TOO LONG!!!

This is the end result right out of the oven:

choc chip biscuits

SCRUMPTIOUS!!!!

 

Nutrition:

Per 1 serving which is 2 (TWO) biscuits:

Calories: 293

Fat: 21

Carbs: 6 net

Protein: 10

 

**note to cut the fat content use a lower fat butter or margarine. I just LOVE the Kerrygold butter for this recipe, and many others as well. But, if you are worried about the fat, know that mostly comes from the butter so if you want to use a light butter, FINE!! ENJOY! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

