Baked Jicama Fries

So, I heard about jicama and wanted to try it. Let me say these need to bake a while if you are baking them. I highly recommend you be prepared to bake them an hour and throw out the burned ended ones if you have them, or do as I plan to next time and fry them in some oil on the stove like “fried potatoes” . That is my next plan. 

That said, taste is not bad. It takes on the flavors you put in there. I think some herbs would go great in here as well. This was my plate of dinner. Jicama fries, parmesan crusted asparagus spears (recipe on blog) and grilled burgers with Mission Carb Balance Tortillas as a bun. 🙂 

 

The directions for jicama fries is simple. Peel and cut the jicama into steak fries. 

Preheat oven to 400 degrees 

Toss the jicama into about 1/3 cup of EVOO (you will throw away leftovers)

Add salt, pepper and season salt to taste. You can add other things here as well.

Toss to coat. 

Shake off excess and place the jicama on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet. 

Bake until done. This took nearly an hour and mine were still crunchy. Next time I may use the silicone baking sheet with the holes in it…might work better and get more air that will cause it to be crispier. Or fry. I am thinking fry. Haha. I only used half my jicama for this recipe so for the entire batch of “fries” there were about 15 carbs. This was enough for 3 people so about 5 net carbs per serving (I had about half the serving  as above). 

  

 

Leave a Reply

