Asparagus Mushroom Cauli Rice Pilaf

I decided to get adventurous with the cauliflower rice. 🙂 I’d seen a recipe using hemp seeds for a mushroom pilaf and I got to thinking, hmmm…..I can do this with cauli rice, surely I can! I did. But, I had some asparagus in the fridge that I really needed to use up. Hmm. Would it work? YES. It would. 🙂 This, I served with a roasted pork loin (in the pressure cooker) for dinner.  I think my next adventure is going to be a cheddar broccoli cauli rice….hmm….but, onto the recipe….get ready…your taste buds are about to have liftoff!!!!!!!!!

INGREDIENTS:

12 oz riced cauliflower (thaw five mins in microwave if frozen – I used Trader Joe’s frozen riced cauliflower)

3-4 medium baby Bella mushrooms, chopped

6 asparagus spears, cut off the big ends, chop tips and middle.

1tbsp butter

Splash chicken stock

Splash heavy cream ( or half and half)

Tbsp Parmesan cheese

Salt and pepper to taste.

Dried parsley

DIRECTIONS:

In a pan, melt butter and cook asparagus and mushrooms. Let mushrooms get soft, but do not overlook asparagus. You want it crunchy.

When done, remove and set aside. Add cauliflower rice, chicken stock, cream, salt and pepper. Allow to cook a few minutes until it starts to cook out the liquid. **Remember when using cauliflower rice if you thaw it in the microwave (should it be the frozen kind) drain it WELL before you put it in the pan. If you have excess liquid it will affect the results. If it is FRESH riced cauli, just throw it in.

Add veggies back in. Continue to cook and season if needed.

Add parm and parsley and mix. Allow to heat through about five mins, stirring occasionally.

This is about 6 net carbs a serving.

Asparagus Mushroom Cauli Rice Pilaf

Leave a Reply

